Writers on Writing: Talina Perkins

talinaperkinsTalina Perkins is a bestselling romance writer of steamy military and paranormal romance books with fast paced plots, strong heroines who are always up for a challenge, and kick-ass alpha heroes.

Born and raised in Mayberry USA, this small town country girl spread her wings at the young age of fourteen and moved to Mexico where she’s lived for the past eighteen years. High on adventure and loving life, Talina now resides in sunny Puerto Vallarta with her four children and is married to a U.S. Recon Marine-her very own smokin’ hot hero.

By day she works as a cover artist and by night she spins her creativeness into intricate webs of words.

Talina also writes sweet romance as Roma Frost Hart. You can find out more about her forthcoming releases on her website.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

That’s a tough question. I’d have to say accountability to myself. Being your own boss comes with great responsibility. No one is going to stand behind you and tell you what needs to be done. You are solely responsible for putting your butt in the chair and getting words on the paper, whether it be digital or the old fashion way, indie or traditionally published.

How has this helped you as a writer?

It’s taught me to be independent and how to rely on myself, make solid decisions in my business and to consider my job as just that—a job. It’s also taught me how to reach out to my fellow authors for help. The actual writing process might be a solitaire job, but everything that comes afterward is a team effort and I wouldn’t be anywhere without my husband, friends, and editor.

Mac or PC?

PC, but I am counting down the days until I get my hands on a Mac if only for the convenience of auto sync between devices.

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

Word. No bells and whistles for me. The more I have to play with, the more I get distracted. It’s all about getting the words on the paper. Since I am a linear writer, going one scene to the next, Word works best for me.bearwitness_adm_tp

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

I take massive amounts of notes using my iPad. OneNote is my go-to app whether on a mobile device or my computer at home. No matter where I am—out to dinner, shopping, stuck in traffic or watching TV with the family— all of my notes are at my fingertips. I’ve learned that if I use scrap pieces of paper here or there my thoughts and random ideas for a story get lost. Since I work on three series at a time it is very important I keep my ideas straight. I would hate to have one of my dragons casting a spell that my witches should be working. 😉

Do you have any writing rituals?

I thought I needed rituals when I first started out, then I discovered it was just a way for my muse (aka me!) to procrastinate. The only thing I do is think how close my deadline is and that usually gets my fingers flying. I also like to leave my characters off in a sticky situation so that when I dive back in it’s not hard to pick up where I left off from the previous day.tpchristmaswiththebear-adm-tp_4_orig

Do you start by writing or researching first?

I start with researching everything that has to do with the current story I happen to be working on as I plot. For example, I researched the local flora and fauna of Alaska before I began writing my Wylde Den series. Though most of it didn’t show up in book one, book two and book three show a lot of the setting which plays a big part of both stories.

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

My desk! I have a little area in my bedroom (homeschooling four kids has driven me into the only place of silence in my home!) where I can slip out of the mundane world surrounding me and into the world of my characters. As soon as the noise canceling earphones go on the limits are only bound by the imagination.

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

LOL My desk. 😉 Rarely do I want to move out from under the cool cascade of air conditioning. My desk happens to be parked directly beneath our mini-split. Having lived in Puerto Vallarta for the last eighteen years, our summers consist of running from one air conditioned room to another.

Stay connected and up to date on upcoming releases, giveaways, and more. Sign up to her newsletter and never miss out on the romance! You can also follow Talina on Facebook, Twitter, and Google + and at her blog. She loves to talk with readers so please don’t be shy!

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

Leave a Reply

