Posted in Book Reviews, Diane Morasco, Diane Morasco Enterprises, Diane Morasco Reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review: Cara: Some Children Keep Terrible Secrets…by Tanya R. Taylor

cara-cornelius-book-3Synopsis: In Tanya R. Taylor’s Cara, the third installment in the gripping Cornelius Saga, some children keep terrible secrets…

After being bullied on the first day at her new school, young Rosie Cullen has found a new friend in a mysterious loner named Cara. Rosie knows her only by her first name, but feels she has an obligation to be there for her in an otherwise lonely existence. Mira, Rosie’s gifted mother, allows the budding friendship for a time, but soon senses that something isn’t quite right.

Dark, disturbing secrets involving the strange little girl begin to surface and the Cullens will eventually discover that what they initially thought was a worthy deed has turned out to be an unforgettable nightmare.

“I took care of things,” Cara replied casually. “I had no choice. Besides, they deserved it.”

My thoughts: Taylor’s writing is once again razor sharp in Book 3 of The Cornelius Saga, Cara. As always, this installment can be read as stand-alone; however, I highly recommend you read all the gripping books in this phenomenal wordsmith’s series.

The characters are flawlessly designed. The atmosphere is richly crafted. The writing is taunt enough to bounce a quarter off. Taylor weaves her tale like an artesian. I thoroughly enjoyed returning to visit old friends and meeting new characters sculpted for Cara.

Still, I thought Taylor ended it a bit abruptly. I was so immersed in the prolific prose and adrenaline fused action I bounced into the wall at the ending. At first, I thought my Voyage was misbehavin’! I was tossed from my perch, on my high horse, reading the tornado that is Cara that I thought I was missing some pages.

Taylor’s writing is flawless but I wanted more. MORE!!! I believe there was so much more to Cara and her backstory I wanted to inhale it. I was miffed. I was experiencing a mini tantrum – trust me, cookie cakes, it isn’t a sight to behold. Yep, I have a little Cara in me. I am hoping this will be a nugget planted in the gifted Taylor’s brilliant mind to write more about Cara in a backstory and branch out to include a book on a relative of Cara’s. I may be tossing angel glitter in the wind here, but I am going to do it, Taylor, ya gotta return to the magic and mischief that is Cara. Cara was too incredible a book and a character to let go of. Perhaps, that is why I believe it ended rather abruptly. Cara is a must-read as a solo outing or as part of the series.

I did mist up while reading it and at the ending. When a reader finds compelling books, it is heaven on earth. When a writer finds books to aspire to, it is also heaven on earth. When Morasco finds books that hit the nail in both categories it is a homerun. Badda Bing. Badda Boom!!!

Taylor’s novels have set a supernatural paradigm in storytelling that hasn’t been met by any of her contemporaries. She is a literary nugget that shines alongside the horror legends. Taylor did it again…Ba-BAMMM!

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

