Writers on Writing: Hildie McQueen

hildie-mcqueen-author-photoBestselling author Hildie McQueen loves action, love and unusual settings. Author of western historical, Highland historical and contemporary romance, she writes something every reader can enjoy.

Most days she can be found in her pajamas hiding from deliverymen while drinking tea from her David Gandy coffee mug. In the afternoons she browses the Internet for semi-nude men to post on Facebook.

Hildie’s favorite past-times are romance conventions, traveling, shopping and reading.

She resides in beautiful small town Georgia with her super-hero husband Kurt and two unruly Chihuahuas.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

I learned it’s more important to involve the reader in a story, bring them into the world so they can experience the adventure. It’s never enough to tell a story, but to write the book in a way that brings the characters to life.

How has this helped you as a writer?

The desire to bring a reader into my story has challenged me to become a better writer. Like any other craft, the more I write, the better I get at storytelling. My advice to new writers is to write daily. Constant honing of writing pays off’. Believe me every writer will notice the change in their craft as they learn and work to make their stories better.

Mac or PC?

I’m an Apple girl. I have a MacBook Pro laptop that I write on when I sit in my recliner or when I travel. Last Christmas my husband surprised me with a huge iMac computer that I am absolutely obsessed with. I love working on it every day.

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

I use MS Word to write. I got Scrivener and it confused me. I hear it makes things easier. I wish I could learn it, but I am so used to Word I doubt things will change.

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

I scribble on everything, but not on any electronics. When I do research, I write on strange things, napkins, toilet paper rolls, it doesn’t matter. The worst is when a story idea flashes on Sunday at church, I’ll write a romantic scene on the program. Don’t tell my pastor!

Do you have any writing rituals?

I make a cup of tea, then I settle at my desk and I check my book stats and email. After going through email and taking notes for things I have to do later, I make a second cup of tea and get my write on.

I write for about an hour, take a break and walk around, do a chore or something, then I write for another hour. I keep going until it’s time to cook dinner or run errands. Usually I try to do at least 3,000 words a day.hildie-mcqueen-graphic

Do you start by writing or researching first?

I don’t have to research as much anymore, so I start by writing. I have done so much research about the west or Highlander romance that I know most things. When I get stuck, I hit the Internet or email authors that are specific to a certain subgenre.

However, the funny thing is when I write contemporary it takes more research sometimes. My last research was to figure out what breed of cattle would survive the best in a tropical climate. Go figure.

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

I love to write on my recliner in the winter. Laptop, hot tea and blanket, that has to be what heaven is like.

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

I write at my desk mostly in the summer. I have a fan overhead and a view of the back deck that I can’t sit at because it’s too flipping humid!

Visit Hildie’s website for the latest news.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HildieMcQueen
Twitter: https://twitter.com/HildieMcQueen
Instagram: @HildieWrites

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

