Posted in A Writer's Life, Diane Morasco, Diane Morasco Enterprises, Giving Back

It Takes a Village in the World of Writing

A white dove carries the olive branch of peace
A white dove carries the olive branch of peace

 

It takes a village in the world of writing. Sadly, far too many writers out there “forget” where they came from. They can’t “recall” their humble beginnings. They are unable to “remember” what it was like when they first entered the scene. Yet, I bet ya rear, they were handed an olive branch – or even a fig leaf – to help them on their author path.

First, cookie cakes, let’s not get it twisted thinking some newbies are looking for a handout – they aren’t (at least I would hope not). What they are hoping for is a hand to lift them up. And, if they are pure of heart, they do remember those who walked the ring of fire with them – and who didn’t.

For those who don’t know me, I am going to tell you where I stand on this issue. I remember. I remember everything. I remember those who I have cheered on, encouraged and given a quote that sold their books, resurrected their books, saved their books and made people seek their books. I did this because that is the kind of woman I am.

I believe there is room for everyone to sell their blood, sweat and tears in the form of our published – and soon to be published – works. However, I have seen a shift as I emerge from journalist|interviewer|reviewer to how my colleagues behave. It is a friggin’ jungle out there. I am so thankful to see this now as I set sail on my author journey.

As I hoist my anchor for my voyage, I am also facing the direction of my sails, and that means – steering clear of choppy waters and areas where the sharks wait to devour unsuspecting prey. I am a reserved kinda gal and often it gets misconstrued as aloof|snobby|witchy (insert b for accuracy in place of w). Which is cool with me.

What I want to express is my gratitude to all of those confident women who traveled with me on my journey. CONFIDENT women. Women who don’t tear each other down because they are lacking. Women who share their experience, strength and hope. Sadly, some of these women didn’t even make it to the middle of my journey to become a published author and that is a gift I treasure. Because I know they aren’t meant to travel with me anymore. Perhaps they never were, but I am one of those spirits who believe there is good in everyone. The Trix rabbit isn’t the only silly bunny. And the beauty surrounding my blessing and my lesson is, I know who I want to have in my life based on the actions of others – or lack thereof. For that I am grateful.

ADMSM

4 thoughts on “It Takes a Village in the World of Writing

  1. I read this this morning. You are so super right! It does take a very big village for us all to get there. All I can think of is those that don’t help others along the way are just scared that you will be bigger and better than they are. And you will be lovely – you will be!

    On Sat, Oct 15, 2016 at 9:06 AM, Welcome to the Official Diane Morasco™ Website wrote:

    > jfoxink posted: ” It takes a village in the world of writing. Sadly, far > too many writers out there “forget” where they came from. They can’t > “recall” their humble beginnings. They are unable to “remember” what it was > like when they first entered the scene. Yet, I bet ya” >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! I will be lovely? Well, cookie cake, since you believe it, so do I. Thank you. 🙂

      I know what you mean. However, it is still dreadful the way some “authors” behave. :O There is room for all of us.

      And, if they are scared of a colleague being “better and bigger” they should up their game by GRINDIN’ their rumps more. Work! ;]

      Like

Leave a Reply

