Writers on Writing: Sarah Fox

SARAHFOX- Author Photo.JPG

Sarah Fox, writer of cozy mysteries, was born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she developed a love for mysteries at a young age. When not writing novels or working as a legal writer she is often reading her way through a stack of books or spending time outdoors with her English Springer Spaniel.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

I think the most important thing I’ve learned is how to push through the difficult times. Whether I need to add several thousand words to a too-short first draft or a plot hole has tripped me up, I now know how to move forward and get over the hurdles that might have stopped me in my tracks a few years ago.

How has this helped you as a writer?

It has definitely helped me with meeting deadlines and juggling multiple projects. When I have one or more deadlines looming, I can’t let plot problems or other issues derail me for long, so being able to get myself back on track quickly has turned out to be a valuable skill.

Mac or PC?

PC.crepesofwrath

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

Word. I confess that I’ve never even tried Scrivener! I dictate most of my work using Dragon Naturally Speaking.

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

No, I write and take notes either on my computer or with pen and paper. However, I do a lot of editing on my Kindle.

Do you have any writing rituals?

I prefer to write earlier in the day rather than later, so I’ll usually have a writing session soon after finishing my day job. On days off from my day job, I’ll spend two to three hours writing first thing in the morning. Most of the time I like to have a cup of tea while I’m writing.

Do you start by writing or researching first?

It depends on the project, but typically I start writing and pause for research when I get to a point in the story where it’s required. I often don’t know exactly the type of information I’ll need until I’m into the story.

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

At my kitchen table, next to a large window so I can watch the snow falling and the birds at the feeder as I write.sarahfoxfoximage

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

Same place but with the window open and a fresh breeze coming in.

Visit Sarah’s website for all the latest news.

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

Leave a Reply

