Writers on Writing: Anna Hub

anna-hub-author-photoWhen Anna Hub was a child, she wanted to be an author. It seemed like a perfectly attainable dream to Hub then, but of course, she grew up and realized writing was not the best way to make a future for herself. So she discarded the idea and decided to do something normal.

When Hub studied nursing, she thought she’d found a place for herself, but within six months of working in that field, Hub knew she needed more. So in July 2007, Hub bought herself a laptop and started writing in her spare time. It took Hub two years to complete her first book and by the time it was finished she felt as though she’d learnt enough to pursue the dream.

Hub’s love for writing has grown rapidly since then and now she knows it’s something she can’t live without. It’s a place where there is no limit, no exact destination and her mind is free to exist in many worlds

It’s a beautiful sanctuary.anna-hub-writing-space

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

To accept criticism. It’s such a tough thing to deal with, especially when you’re first starting out (and we writers are a sensitive bunch). But after a few years, the bad reviews don’t sting quite as much. You start to notice that the thing one person complained about is exactly the same thing that someone else loved.
Once you shove your ego aside, you realize a lot of those negative reviews made really good points. You begin to separate yourself from your work and you become a better writer.

How has this helped you as a writer?

It has set me free. Truly. It’s allowed me to let go of the fear that my writing won’t be perfect. Because in reality, no piece of writing has ever been perfect, and no piece of writing ever will be. Art is subjective, but that’s the beauty of it.the-ninth-hunter-ebook-cover

Mac or PC?

PC. I don’t like the way Apple will only allow you to use other Apple products, because ultimately I want the freedom to buy whatever gadget suits me rather than having to stick with one brand. But if I’m honest, it’s probably a matter of principle for me rather than practicality. Take that Apple!

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

I’m pretty happy with Word at this stage. I do like to plot quite extensively before I get started though, and I’ve heard Scrivener is a great aid for plotters, so I definitely won’t rule it out in the future.beyond-the-shadows-cover

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

Usually I take notes when I’m first starting out or when I’m stuck on a plot hole. Somehow writing with pen and paper makes that process more organic. Almost as though having a screen in front of me puts the pressure on to produce a result. With pen and paper, I feel like I can just let thoughts flow in their own time.

Do you have any writing rituals?

At the moment I’m doing all my drafting with dictation. I was having trouble with productivity because I was fed up with sitting at a desk. I’d get headaches and sore shoulders, and I’d heard good things about dictation. I started about two months ago and I’m completely hooked! It’s so liberating and it stops me from self editing while I draft which is a huge time saver. After all, a draft is meant to be rubbish haha
So, my ritual is to dictate in the car on the way home from work, or to and from social events on the weekend. Driving is a great for my imagination too. It’s amazing being able to combine the two!

Do you start by writing or researching first?

I like to research at the beginning. Often to help with plot inspiration. Once I know where my story is going, I write the draft and research again at the end to fill in the blanks. But I also love to create my own mythology so I’m not bound by someone else’s rules.shadowhunters_ebook-2

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

Probably in bed! It seems so indulgent, but what other job allows you to stay in bed in your PJs all the day and call it work? A-mazing!

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

I live in Australia and it gets ridiculously hot here in summer. So pretty much anywhere with an air conditioning vent nearby! Or by the pool. That’s always a great setting. Again, what other job allows you the freedom to do that and call it work 😉

For the latest news, visit Anna’s website.

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

Leave a Reply

