Posted in A Writer's Life, Diane Morasco, Diane Morasco Enterprises, Diane Morasco Interviews, Diane Morasco's Writers on Writing

Writers on Writing: Jenny Hale

img_0380When Jenny Hale graduated college, one of her friends said, “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day.” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to her.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t.

While she didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children, and hundreds of thousands of words later, she completed a novel that she felt was worthy of publication. The result was Coming Home for Christmas, a heart-warming story about friends, family, and the magic of love at Christmas.

The rest is history.

When she’s not writing, she’s a mother of two boys and a wife to a very supportive husband.img_0333

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

I think it’s that every book is different. Every plot structure, every edit—it’s all unique to the book I’m writing at that time. I often try to create some sort of mental template to make the next book “easier” to write, but there isn’t one. Each book has its own complexities.

How has this helped you as a writer?

It’s taught me that it’s okay to just start at a blank page with no expectations. Just write.

Mac or PC?

Mac

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

When I switched from PC to Mac, I didn’t have time between books to learn anything new, so I put Word on my Mac and kept rolling! Still using Word.all-i-want_rgb-1

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

I do everything on my Mac or on quick, handwritten sticky-notes and things.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Lately, I’ve put instrumental music on very quietly in the background, and that has really helped me to focus. I might also light a candle. And I always have to have a very tidy workspace.

Do you start by writing or researching first?

I just write and research as I go.summer-at-oyster-bay_final-1

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

My office.

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

Also my office, but sometimes I’ll go outside on a nice day and sit on my front porch or my back deck.

Visit Jenny’s website for the latest news.

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

Leave a Reply

