#TheCurvaliciousGirl’sGuidetoLife™

dmtcggtlq1

Advertisements

What I’m Reading…

stealing-snow-by-danielle-paigeSeventeen-year-old Snow has spent the majority of her life within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she’s not crazy and doesn’t belong there. When she meets a mysterious, handsome new orderly and dreams about a strange twisted tree she realizes she must escape and figure out who she really is.

Using her trusting friend Bale as a distraction, Snow breaks free and races into the nearby woods. Suddenly, everything isn’t what it seems, the line between reality and fantasy begins to blur, and she finds herself in icy Algid–her true home–with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai, none of whom she’s sure she can trust. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she’s destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change the fate of everything…including Snow’s return to the world she once knew.

 

Time Management Tips for Writers: #3 To-do lists

pwGreetings Writer Cookie Cakes!

One of the biggest challenges a writer faces today is making efficient use of their time. Way too often we get sucked into the social media vortex and lose precious time. And to make matters worse, we fool ourselves into thinking we are marketing and networking to justify the hours chomped up clicking, liking, posting, and sharing. Oy!

As an Indie author wearing all the hats, even if you outsource some of your work, this is detrimental to you as a writer. In a nutshell, it will place a boulder and eventually create a sinkhole on your publishing road to triumph. Is this what you want? NOOO, HONEY! Ya don’t. At least, I hope not. And, if it is, please enlighten me as to why ya want ya arse in a friggin’ ditch? Please, fill me in, so I don’t waste my precious time bustin’ my rump helping you to fill those potholes. I am not into perspiring. Well, only during exercise and… Oops! Never mind. Hahaha!

For the next few weeks, I am going to share some tips on how to manage your time more productively so you can get your drafts, edits and novels completed on schedule. And, don’t ya dare say, ya don’t have a schedule. *wink*

Time Management Tips for Writers: #3 To-do lists

Let me first admit, cookie cakes, keeping a to-do list can go either way for me. In fact, sometimes I jot down a memo on a post-it note to remind myself to write my list of things to-do. And to ensure I don’t misplace the post-it, I stick that baby on the air-purifier next to the couch. Oy! I even email and text myself to do this. Yep, I know. I know. However, when I do jot down my lists, cookie cakes, I jot it like a BOSS! YESSS, HONEY!!!

Recently, I downloaded Planner Pro on my iPad and on my S7, so there will be no excuses – none – until my Discbound planner arrives for me to utilize this smart habit. I will say  everything in my universe flows rhythmically when I do remember the milk, respond to an email, schedule a project, return a phone call, and meet a deadline. And when I don’t, I am a discombobulated land mine of chaos and confusion. Which isn’t good for me – or anyone circling my orbit. Yikes! I also don’t like the feeling that comes with not having my beans together. It leaves me in a funk. Now, cookie cakes, there are times I want to say “bite me” when I am adding my events, notes and tasks because it can be tedious and a bit time consuming, but once ya get into the swing of things – you are hitting those balls like Jeter. The time you save and the calmness that sweeps over you is priceless. And, yes, I have said “screw this” and procrastinated on maintaining my to-do list. And, cookie cakes, that is okay. We are striving to implement habits and practices for the long haul and it will take time and repetition. We can release the militant reins and just go with the flow – sometimes. When we are avoiding this or anything else, we need to examine and explore why we are. It may just be a matter of this isn’t for me. If that is the case, we need to find what is for us. Just keep at it until you find what works for you. Don’t forget to celebrate the wins as you cross off what you have accomplished with a lil’ treat.

See ya next week for my next Time Management Tips for Writers!

ADMSM

Today’s Wisdom Key

The Official Blog of No. 1 Bestselling Author Tanya R. Taylor ™

A real passion or desire to achieve your goals and dreams cannot be chased away by the constant storms of life. If achieving that dream has been embedded into the very fiber of your being, nothing and no one is a powerful enough deterrent. No one, that is – other than you. Something that’s impossible for you to achieve would never have been ingrained in the fiber of your soul. Despite all obstacles, roadblocks and setbacks – your passion, determination and faith can take you directly to your destiny.

Wisdom Keys for LIFE – Amazon

View original post

Book Review: ‘The Alpha Drive (The Alpha Drive, #1)’ by Kristen Martin

kmthe-alpha-drive-final-front-coverSynopsis: In Kristen Martin’s The Alpha Drive (The Alpha Drive, #1), it’s the year 2055 and an anarchist organization has taken control with the aim to create a world-class society. Half of humankind is unknowingly living in an alternate reality called Dormance . . . and there are no plans to wake them up.

Sixteen-year-old introvert Emery Parker is one such dormant. An academic scholar who avoids ruffling feathers at all costs, Emery finds herself being transferred to a boarding school on the outskirts of Arizona. Little does she know; a family secret has the power to change the course of the future. When she’s approached with an opportunity to free the dormants, she sees no other choice but to accept, even though failure could mean having her memory wiped clean.

But when tech-savvy Torin Porter reaches out to her from the other side, Emery begins to question everything she was told about Dormance. If her family’s secret falls into the wrong hands, the world as she knows it will be faced with irreversible consequences. Now Emery must play both sides to uncover the truth about her family’s past or risk leaving mankind to live in an unconscious reality.

My thoughts: Word on Alphabet Street is The Alpha Drive is comparable in some way for fans of The Matrix and Divergent. NOOO, HONEY! It isn’t. Kristen Martin hasn’t just smashed the proverbial glass ceiling with her stunning YA debut – she obliterated it. Thanks to the incredibly gifted Martin the genre will never be the same. Nope, it won’t. Ever. Hallelujah! In fact, Martin’s contemporaries’ may soon find themselves getting scratched on the glass the new Princess of Fantasy has shattered to bits as they struggle to catch up to this ingénue’s level of commanding storytelling. Martin has writing skills, Martin has world building skills and Martin has character designing skills. Pfft! Martin has skills. Period.

Martin’s first outing is brimming with dynamic, intriguing and pulsating characters who take the reader along for the exhilarating ride – so readers, ya better buckle up. Martin’s strength glistens radiantly with the imagined world she detailed with expertise and grace. The Alpha Drive is a breathtaking cinematic adventure.

Readers, take heed, this is an extremely difficult book to put down. I started it at night and did not go to sleep until I finished it after two the next morning. I was snuggled in with my trio of blessings – two dogs and a cat – and flipped my Voyage like the book was going to vanish from my Kindle. Hey! Ya never know.

The Alpha Drive is brimming with a sundry of twists which smoothly propel the action. It is exciting, stirring and laced beautifully. Martin’s brilliantly crafted tension keeps the pages turning. YESSS, HONEY!

The Alpha Drive is a must-read for readers of all genres because it is such a compelling read. Martin’s style is impressive and the fact that she will only get better with each book she writes is an incredible gift to readers of epic fantasy and good ol’ storytelling.

There hasn’t been a writer in this genre to leave an imprint as powerful as Martin since Rowling. Yes, cookie cakes, that Rowling. J.K. Rowling. Marie Lu came semi-close with her Legend series, but semi-close is like the color beige – it’s just there. But when a vibrant color like turquoise or aquamarine – nope, not the same color, cookie cakes, not at all – comes along, beige blends into the background and tastes as bland as tapioca. Martin is turquoise. Martin is aquamarine. However, Martin is not Rowling. Martin is Martin – Kristen Martin.

Martin’s enchanting writing created its own imprint in this inundated arena. Let’s be honest, cookie cakes, there is one Rowling, one Serling, one Lucas, one Spielberg, and now there are two Martin’s – George and Kristen.

Welcome, Kristen Martin, to your throne and your new Kingdom. And to think, this is her first novel. Her debut! WOW! I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy of the second installment in this ingenious and intricately plotted trilogy, The Order of Omega. I cannot wait until November 8th.

And if she heads east on a book tour – I am going to be putting out a Call to Action for smelling salts. Kristen Martin is an auto-buy, an inspiration and a friend in my head. Hey, if Wendy Williams can have them, so can this New York/ Jersey hybrid. Just sayin’!

Here’s to many, many many, more books from Kristen Martin. Embrace your moments, Kristen Martin, the best is yet to come.

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

Review first appeared on Blogcritics.