Posted in A Writer's Life, Diane Morasco, Diane Morasco Interviews, Diane Morasco's Writers on Writing, Uncategorized

Writers on Writing: Sarah Robinson

SarahsWritingSpace“Aside from being a Top 10 Barnes & Noble and Amazon Bestseller, Sarah Robinson is a native of Washington, DC and has both her Bachelors and Masters Degrees in psychology. She is newly married to a local police officer, who is just as much of an animal rescue enthusiast as she is, and together they own a small zoo of animals and volunteer with animal shelters.”

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

If I don’t feel it, my readers won’t feel it. That’s the lesson I’ve learned that I’ve found most valuable.

 

How has this helped you as a writer?

Whether a scene is happy, sad, sexy, or angry—I need to be feeling it in order to convey it onto the page. This is why I believe that having empathy is so important as a writer. We often write about people, places, and scenarios we’ve never experienced ourselves, so we need to be able to empathize with those who have, or even with our characters, to be able to get into their heads and allow readers to do the same. My writing is often called emotional from readers and reviewers, and I think that mindset is the reason for it.

Author Photo - Sarah Robinson

Mac or PC?

Definitely Mac! I’ve had the same MacBook Pro for 8 years now and somehow, it still works like a charm. It’s a bit slower and randomly dies, but it chugs along and does what I need it to, so that’s what matters. I’m able to sync with iBooks and all kinds of other programs for writers that PC’s just don’t have access to.

 

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

Both. I use Scrivener for the first draft and keeping track of characters. Once the first draft is done, I export it into a word document and edit it, make it pretty, and send it off to my publisher!

 

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

Nope, I’m pen and paper in that regard, with one exception. I have tons of post-its covered in random notes that are scattered over my desk and shoved into notebooks. The exception is that I do “write notes”, more like jot down quick inspirations or ideas, by texting them to myself on my iPhone. If I’m out and about and something great comes to my mind, I text it to myself. Once I open up my Mac, I have iMessages on my computer and can scroll right through the texts on my laptop and easily copy/paste. It works for me, even though it’s a bit odd!

FINAL Saving a Legend Cover

Do you have any writing rituals?

I need either silence, or white noise (like a coffee shop background) to write, and something to drink. Normally water, plus coffee. Sometimes wine, or a beer. Every once in a while, I’ll add in some healthy snacks to keep my energy up, like almonds! Other than that, there’s nothing super specific about my routine.

 

Do you start by writing or researching first?

Writing. Since most of my stories are character driven, I can usually get the first chapter or two out before I hit research phase. The reason I do this is it helps me get an idea in my mind for what I want to write. Even if I plan or outline ahead of time, once you start writing, it changes a bit. Once I have a feel for that, then I have a better idea what to research!

 

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

My couch. Cuddly and warm!

Breaking-a-Legend_Robinson-2

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

Starbucks. Or any cute coffee shop or café.

 

Visit Sarah’s website for all the latest news.

 

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

 

Interview first appeared in Long Island Book Reviews Examiner.

Leave a Reply

