Posted in A Writer's Life, Diane Morasco, Diane Morasco Interviews, Holidays, Uncategorized

Writers on Writing: J R Pearson

 

JPWSSelf-publishing cozy mystery author Jenna Pearson writes the Josie Rizzo Cozy Mystery Series under the pseudonym J R Pearson. She is twenty years old and live with her parents and younger sister in southern Maryland.JP cartoon

Pearson absolutely looooovvees to read cozy mysteries, crime thrillers, and paranormal romantic comedy books. She has over 600 books camping out her room, which will probably double by the end of the year 😉

Pearson is a Marvel Comics nerd! #TeamCaptainAmericaJPJRB1

She very much enjoys watching old 1930s Sherlock Holmes and cheesy monster movies with her family, who are my inspiration for writing—good times, delicious food, and crazy family.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

Since I self -publish, I’ve learned to just take my time when writing. I’m on no one’s schedule or deadline. It’s just me, my little world I’ve created, and all the time in the universe.

 

How has this helped you as a writer?

Being that taking my time is key, I’ve seen more consistency in my storyline and just an overall better outcome of the whole project.

Mac or PC?

 

Neither! I do all my writing on a tablet with an attachable keyboard.

JPJRBook2

Word or Scrivener?

‘Word’ all the way.

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

I write out my notes on a notepad but then type out my story on my tablet.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Yes I do! As I’m typing, I have re-runs of the TV show: The Big Bang Theory—in the background and have my body pillow wrapped around me. 🙂
Do you start by writing or researching first?

Research first! My books contain a lot of food, so I take the time to plan/research new recipes to include.

 

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

In my bed with a gazillion blankets and chocolate coffee on my nightstand.

JPJRBook3

 

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

On my driveway…Lol! I know that sounds weird, but I’m like a cat in a warm spot on the floor. I love to lay out a blanket and get to work. The ground is toasty and I’m also getting a tan at the same time! 🙂

 

Review first appeared in Long Island Book Reviews Examiner.
Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

One thought on “Writers on Writing: J R Pearson

Leave a Reply

