Writers on Writing: Terrie Farley Moran

Terrie Farley MoranTerrie Farley Moran is the best-selling author of the Read ‘Em and Eat cozy mysteries series. Well Read, Then Dead, winner of the Agatha Award for Best First Novel 2014, was followed by Caught Read-Handed in 2015. Read to Death will be released in July 2016.

Terrie’s short mystery fiction has been published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine and numerous anthologies. Her short story, “A Killing at the Beasoleil” prequel to the Read ’Em and Eat novels, has recently been nominated for an Agatha Award for Best Short Story.

She also co-writes Laura Childs’s Scrapbooking Mystery series. Together they have written Parchment and Old Lace (October 2015) and Crepe Factor (October 2016).
TFM Writing space

What is the most important thing you’ve learned about writing?

I’ve learned that, like so many other endeavors, perseverance is the key to getting the project written the way I want it. And it takes even more perseverance to get it published.

 

How has this helped you as a writer?

I am not a patient person and I am a very slow writer. Recognizing that perseverance is essential to success has allowed me to be more tolerant of the amount of time it takes me to complete a novel or a story.

 TFM WR

Mac or PC?

PC.

Do you use Word or Scrivener?

WORD.

 

Do you write or take notes with an iPad or tablet?

I write on the PC. If I make any notes, it is with pen and paper. I usually edit on the PC but sometimes I print the project and edit by hand.

 

Do you have any writing rituals?

I write nearly every day. First thing in the morning I leave the house and exercise (bike, walk, gym, or water aerobics) for forty-five minutes to an hour then I come home and sit at the keyboard. I break for lunch and to watch either a children’s program on PBS like Thomas the Train or Angelina Ballerina, or I might watch a few minutes of news. Then it’s back to the keyboard until dinner time when I go out for a walk or a bike ride and then eat. If a deadline looms, I go back to the keyboard after dinner until bed time. And I still have to do all the usual stuff like go to the dentist to get my teeth cleaned and wash the kitchen floor. *sigh*TFM Caught

Do you start by writing or researching first?

Research. Most often I research the proposed setting for the story thoroughly before I start to write. Sometimes I remind myself it would be easier to invent a setting and get on with the writing but I rarely do so.

 

Favorite spot to write in the winter?

In my cozy office sitting at the PC.

 

Favorite spot to write in the summer?

 

In my air-conditioned office sitting at the PC.
TFM R

 

Visit Terrie’s website for the latest news.

 

Interview first appeared in Long Island Book Reviews Examiner.

 

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

Leave a Reply

