Social Media Angst and Antipathy

socialmedia
I am not a social media enthusiast. In fact, I think it is a productivity parasite. I know it is possible to schedule your social media time efficiently but for me it is a time leech. I often find myself becoming nauseous whenever I so much as think about having to login to my social media accounts. Which is counterproductive as an entrepreneur who has a sundry of hyphens attached–writer, publisher, agent, designer, and media consultant. When it comes to social media posts for me there is no gray area. I either post or I don’t. And I don’t. I haven’t posted in ages. I actually do become physically ill. I feel as if it is a chore. When I have posted to my sites I found myself making a face, procrastinating and acting out. I was definitely misbehavin’ badly. I also felt as if I was forcing myself to do something I didn’t want to. I realized my heart just wasn’t in it. I did everything to “psyche” myself up to join the media sphere. I have amazing writer friends and mentors who partake but I missed and still miss many posts due to staying off of the social media grid. Recently, I have been pondering ways to ease myself back into the social media fray but still my tummy tumbles and I feel my hackles hiking. Grrr! Since we are midway through the first month of a new year, I know I can’t continue with this social media aversion absurdity. I have to come up with some resourceful tips and entertaining tricks to overcome my apprehension. For now, I have taken the first step by admitting my angst and antipathy for social media.

Copyright © 2016 by Diane Morasco

One thought on “Social Media Angst and Antipathy

Leave a Reply

