Interview: Winter Holiday Fireside Moments with Debut Thrill Writer Ruth Ware

RW-Author photoRuth Ware grew up in Lewes, in Sussex. After graduating from Manchester University she moved to Paris, before settling in North London. She has worked as a waitress, a bookseller, a teacher of English as a foreign language and a press officer. She is married with two small children, and In a Dark, Dark Wood is her début thriller.

It’s that time of year when the chill in the frosty air brings us indoors to hunker down with thick comforters and mugs of steaming hot chocolate overflowing with fluffy marshmallows. When holiday music and movies become the soundtrack to our everyday home lives. When we gather ‘round the fire for company, drink, food and love. When we are celebrating and remembering those we treasure and hold near and dear. When the real meaning of the season is family – by our DNA or by our heart. When we reflect and give thanks for all we have. In a nutshell, unconditional love.

I’d like to welcome Debut Suspense Novelist Ruth Ware to share the beauty of the season with us.

Favorite Holiday tradition?

Has to be Christmas carols – I love them! I sing along at every opportunity and embarrass my family.

Favorite childhood toy?

The doll’s house my dad made – it was an exact replica of our house and I loved it. I think my sister still has it in an attic somewhere.

Snow ball fight or making snow families?

I enjoy throwing a few snowballs but I’ve not got very good aim so I try to avoid playing with people who look too accurate.

Sleigh rides, sledding or skiing?

All of the above!

Favorite holiday song?

Assuming we’re ruling out carols, Santa Baby by Eartha Kitt.

Favorite holiday story to read?

Christmas with the Savages.

Snow on holiday eve, day or just a chill in the air?

I would love a white Christmas but it’s never going to happen in my neck of the woods. I do like a nice frost in the air though.

Did you eat popcorn balls as a kid? If you did, do you still?

I don’t even know what they are – I don’t think we have them in the UK! So, er, no and no. Am now intrigued though…

Real tree or artificial? Green or white?

ALWAYS REAL.

What’s the one holiday dish your family can’t go without?

A big plate of smoked salmon garnished with chunks of lemon and brown bread.

RW both-jackets1-1024x732

Favorite holiday decoration?

It’s a 1950s thing I inherited from my grandmother and it’s almost indescribable but I will have a try… it’s like a polystyrene ball about the size of a large grapefruit or small melon, that’s been hollowed out and little snowy woodland scenes placed inside. I have literally no idea what it’s called, let alone what it’s for, but it was a feature of all my Christmases as a small child and I love it. I tried to google for a picture of something similar and the closest I got was this https://www.pinterest.com/pin/116812184055290214/ which I found by googling “1950s polystyrene Christmas snow ball” which was the best I could come up with in search terms. It’s structurally similar but mine doesn’t have the creepy clowns – thankfully.

Wrap, gift bag or bow & go?

I always wrap Christmas presents in brown paper tied up with red string or ribbon – ideally string but you can’t always get it.

Cyber-shop or head out into the trenches?

A bit of both – I do the heavy lifting via the internet but there are some things you just have to go and rummage for.

Do you eat fruitcake?

Yes, but in moderations.

Do you head to the movies on the 25th?

No!? In fact I’m pretty sure all the cinemas here close for Christmas. In any case, there is a punishing schedule of cooking, eating, drinking and present opening so no time for anything apart from a quick walk.

Do you head out on the 26th into the madness to exchange or shop for anything?

No. I do go to the sales but not on Boxing Day – the 26th is a day for family and recovery!

Thank you so much, Ruth. Happy Holidays our home to yours!

Visit Ruth’s website for the latest news.

Follow her on twitter at http://www.twitter.com/ruthwarewriter.

Find her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/ruthwarewriter.

Copyright © 2015 by Diane Morasco

Interview first appeared on Blogcritics.

Leave a Reply

